Home Local News Ocean Pines election tossed; Camilla Rogers resigns

Ocean Pines election tossed; Camilla Rogers resigns

by DrewLUD

The Ocean Pines Association will not count votes cast this summer for the 2021 Board of Directors election and hold a new election instead with three candidates on the ballot.

The board on Sept. 30 voted unanimously to “to rescind the standing motion to count the 2021 election ballots passed on July 30, 2021, and amended on Sept 9, 2021,” according to a Friday morning OPA news release. 

This summer’s Board of Directors election, which had four candidates on the ballot, has been mired in legal dispute after the association secretary disqualified candidate Richard Farr after voting had begun.

At its Sept. 30 meeting, the seven-member board voted unanimously not to count those ballots but was split over the next steps.

The north gate entrance to Ocean Pines

According to an OPA news release, the directors voted 4-3 to conduct a new election with three candidates: incumbent Frank Daly, Stuart Lakernick and David C. Hardy.

The election will decide the seats currently held by Daly and Frank Brown, who is not seeking re-election.

Association President Larry Perrone, Vice President Colette Horn and directors Daly and Brown voted in favor of the motion to hold a new election.  Treasurer Doug Parks, secretary Camilla Rogers and Director Tom Janasek voted against.

Source link
Source: GANNETT Syndication Service