Home Weather Videos Touring a City with Old Postcards: Atlantic City

Touring a City with Old Postcards: Atlantic City

by DrewLUD
21 views



Atlantic City was known as the “Playground of America”, and has a fascinating history that can be explored through Postcards. From the history of the Miss America Pageant, to gangsters and salt water taffy, let’s use postcards to tell the history of my local beach resort city. Of course, this also provides a wonderful opportunity for some Xtremedeltiology and Xtremephilately.
While this channel is dedicated to philately, deltiology has many intersections that allow us to expand our collection and enhance our experience with the hobby.
#deltiology #postcards #atlanticcity

*! Yes, you should wear a helmet when Skateboarding!

Follow me on Social Media:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ExploringStamps
Instagram: https://instagram.com/exploringstamps?igshid=NDBlY2NjN2I=

Support the Channel:
https://ko-fi.com/exploringstamps
https://exploring-stamps.creator-spring.com/?

LINKS:

Postcard History Series (books): https://www.arcadiapublishing.com/series/postcard-history-series-books

eBay’s Postcard Category (the best place to find postcards!): https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2334524.m570.l1313&_nkw=&_sacat=262042&LH_TitleDesc=0&_odkw=postcard&LH_BIN=1&_osacat=262042&_dcat=262041&_oaa=1

Deltiology:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deltiology
Postcard SOCIETIES: http://www.atozee.com/web/postcards/postcard-clubs-societies.html
The Institute of American Deltiology (UMD): https://www.lib.umd.edu/institute-american-deltiology

If you are on Twitter, you GOTTA follow ‘Postcards from the Past’: https://twitter.com/PastPostcard

Atlantic City:
https://www.acnj.gov/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atlantic_City,_New_Jersey
Fralingers: (James Candy Co.): https://jamescandy.com/
Chantacler: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chantecler_(play)
Steel Pier: https://steelpier.com/
Wild Hearts can’t be Broken: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wild_Hearts_Can%27t_Be_Broken
Miss America: https://www.missamerica.org/organization/history/#:~:text=September%201922,title%2C%20%E2%80%9CMiss%20America%E2%80%9D.
Lois Delander: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lois_Delander
HBO’s Boardwalk Empire: https://www.hbo.com/boardwalk-empire
You could live at the Ritz: https://www.ritzac.com/
The Hotel Dennis: http://www.historic-structures.com/nj/atlantic_city/dennis_hotel.php
History of Monopoly: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Monopoly
LUCY the Elephant: https://lucytheelephant.org/ (if I read this site carefull, I would have known that she was under construction…doh!)
Flesh & the Devil: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flesh_and_the_Devil

source
Source: Youtube